CigarBanter

Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6

Author Topic: 10/6/2020  (Read 4430 times)

razgueado

• Founding Member
  • Esteemed Status
  • KG7OCA
Re: 10/6/2020
« Reply #60 on: October 06, 2020, 04:15:07 PM »

Holy crap! Eddie Van Halen is dead.

Travellin Dave

• Fanatical Member
  • Post Whore Extraordinaire
  • Resolutions intact
    • My Top Cigars of 2021
« Reply #61 on: October 06, 2020, 04:24:42 PM »

We lost Eddie Van Halen today.  RIP

Travellin Dave

• Fanatical Member
  • Resolutions intact
    • My Top Cigars of 2021
« Reply #62 on: October 06, 2020, 04:25:06 PM »

Oops, a hair late...

razgueado

• Founding Member
  • Esteemed Status
  • KG7OCA
« Reply #63 on: October 06, 2020, 05:28:56 PM »

Oops, a hair late...
Sorry, I'm a guitarist and this came flooding in from all directions on the computer after I returned from a doctor appointment.

For me, EVH's genius manifested not in his guitar solos but in his rhythm comping.  Most guitarists, when playing behind someone singing, strum the strings, play chord arpeggios, or do some sort of muted stabs.  Maybe they throw in some fills at the end of each phrase.  Then they shine in their solos.  If you're not a guitarist, then here are some examples from the top of my head: "Won't Get Fooled Again," by The Who.  "Smells Like Teen Spirit" by Nirvana. "Taxman" or "The Word" by the Beatles.  "The Wind Cries Mary" by Jimi Hendrix.  "Back in Black" by AC/DC.  And I could go on and on and on.

But Eddie?  Eddie did this wild shit in the grooves behind the vocals.  And as wild as it is, it's never overdone or intrusive, always musical, always funky.  Listen to "Hot for Teacher" or "Ice Cream Man" from 1st era Van Halen, or "Finish What You Started" from the Sammy Hagar era.  Even if you don't play guitar, your ears will tell you this sounds very different from what other guitarists do.